Mindful Nutrition and Wellness

Jessica Miller, Holistic Health Coach

build-a-green-smoothie

8 Comments

I love to start my morning with a green smoothie. If you’re new to green smoothies, start with fewer greens and more fruit. Gradually increase your ratio of greens to fruit. All fruit smoothies are full of sugar and can lead to crashes later in the day. Eating greens first thing leads to maximum nutrient absorption and increased energy for the day. No need for coffee!?????????????????????????????????????

I generally follow this guidance to create a smoothie full of nutrients that will also sustain me until lunch:

Step 1: Choose your greens- 2 cups

  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Collard greens
  • Romaine
  • *switch up your greens occasionally to ensure you are getting maximum nutrients from a variety of greens

Step 2: Choose a Sweet Fruit- ½ cup (if you need extra sweetness)

  • Banana
  • Pineapple

Step 3: Choose Your Berries- ½ cup

  • Blueberries
  • Raspberries
  • Blackberries
  • Goji berries (1/4 cup)

Step 4: Choose Your Super Food Add-ins- 1-2 tablespoons each

  • Flax seed- great source of Omega-3s
  • Chia seed- great source of fiber and protein
  • Raw cacao powder or nibs- great source of antioxidants
  • Bee pollen-antioxidant and amino-acid rich
  • Spirulina- amino-acids, B Vitamins, immune boosting, antioxidant-rich
  • Hemp seeds- great source of protein

Step 5: Choose your milk- 1-2 cups

  • I prefer unsweetened or homemade almond milk
  • Depending on your body, you may choose: soy, cow’s, goat’s, rice milk

One of my favorite smoothies includes:

  • Kale
  • Banana
  • Blueberries
  • Flax seed
  • Chia seed
  • Raw cacao
  • Bee pollen
  • Hemp seeds
  • Almond milk

Drink up!

Author: Mindful Nutrition and Wellness

Holistic Health Coach, mindfulnutritionandwellness.com

8 thoughts on “build-a-green-smoothie

  1. I started making green smoothies, but was using greek yogurt to give it more density last fall, but then fell off the wagon. Do you feel that you get the smoothy thickness using milk? Do you freeze any of the items (greens, fruit, berries) before you blend? I really want to get on this green smoothy train – but I know I need a plan in the morning that requires only a few steps…

    P.S. I love this. You’re great.

    • kiztim,

      I love that you’re also drinking green smoothies! I have been personally steering clear of dairy and yogurt because of the high sugar content, but I also thought that yogurt almost made my smoothies too thick for my texture needs 🙂 I use frozen berries but fresh everything else. You can also pre-portion the ingredients at the beginning of the week- use a small container or reusable bag with all the contents of one smoothie in that container. Then you can just dump it all into the blender. I am a little strange and really enjoy organizing my food like this 🙂

      You could also freeze the bananas (chop them up first) or add ice for more thickness. Let me know how these ideas work for you!

      • You’re right…the thickness was getting out of control w/ all the frozen stuff plus yogurt. This is really helpful and I’ve been wanting to try out almond milk for things like this — time to go to the grocery store! 🙂

  2. Hi Jess! Do you ever make your smoothies the night before? I’m usually up and out the door before my partner wakes up and I would hate to be noisy with the blender in the am. I’m wondering how they would hold up in the fridge overnight…

    • Ana,

      You describe one of the greatest challenges of smoothie making: the sleeping housemate!

      This is a fix I have been working on because I have the same problem. What I do is load up my blender and carry it into the bathroom and close the door before I run it- this has seemed to be a reasonable solution.

      Smoothies are best when consumed immediately before the nutritional break down, however there is still a lot of benefit in them even if they are left in the fridge overnight- definitely choose this option over a green smoothie-less day!

  3. Looks really great! Love the darkkk green!

  4. Pingback: The Breakfast Experiment: Which breakfast was made for you? | Mindful Nutrition and Wellness

Share Your Thoughts

