Mindful Nutrition and Wellness

Jessica Miller, Holistic Health Coach

raw carrot cake bites

Leave a comment

Recently, I watched the film Hungry for Change. On crutches, I have a little extra time, so I “borrowed” my roommate’s Netflix streaming log in. This film reminded me of a Time Magazine photo montage I saw awhile ago (I think passed around on social media):  What the World Eats. The photos are very enlightening in showing the quality and quantity of food that families around the world eat in one week.  The more “modern” the country, the less actual food its citizens seem to eat, but the greater the quantity of it.  I was happy to see Germany’s spread.  Apart from the beer,  I was reminded of my visit there and how impressed I was by the quality of its food- many fresh, whole options. I could not understand why we could not have the same offerings widely available in the U.S.

My neighborhood now offers one way to achieve this. Last week, I received my first CSA/ farm share from the Crown Heights Farm Share. (Below, are some of the beautiful carrots that were in my share- there is nothing more delicious than a fresh carrot- so sweet and refreshing!)

At first, I was a little worried that I would not be able to eat all of the produce in my share, but it only lasted me a few days!  In my first share I received:

  • bibb lettuce
  • red romaine
  • bok choy
  • radishes
  • snap peas
  • carrots
  • strawberries
  • asparagus

Quite a variety that I was very excited about! I can’t wait to see what I get tomorrow!

I am excited that this is available in my neighborhood, and hope that many of the families native to the community are also able to access it: The changing landscape of Crown Heights.

carrots CSA

carrot cake bites

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

raw carrot cake bites:

  • 2 large carrots, peeled
  • 1/2 apple, chopped
  • 1 cup Medjool dates, pitted
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t nutmeg
  • 1/2 t powdered ginger
  • 1/2 t vanilla extract
  • 1/42 cup raw walnuts, chopped and divided
  • 2 T unsweetened coconut

In blender or food processor, process 1/4 cup walnuts into a flour-like consistency.  Set aside. Add carrots and apple to process until shredded. Add dates, walnut flour and vanilla to carrot apple mixture. Process until a doughy consistency forms. In a bowl combine “dough,” spices, 1/4 cup chopped walnuts, and vanilla- mix until combined. Roll “dough” into spoon-sized balls. Add coconut to a small bowl, roll “dough” in coconut until completely covered. Chill for at least 30 minutes before serving. Eat within 5 days (if they last that long).

Author: Mindful Nutrition and Wellness

Holistic Health Coach, mindfulnutritionandwellness.com

Share Your Thoughts

