Mindful Nutrition and Wellness

Jessica Miller, Holistic Health Coach

fudgy raw brownies

Leave a comment

I have been on crutches for nearly ten days and it has been tough. My radius of travel has been limited, but I am becoming more agile 😉 I had better have amazing triceps after this! I have been frequenting one of my favorite local spots- Juice Hugger- that I almost forgot about and is just steps away from my apartment. Lots of healthy, light, delicious and veg-friendly options.

This weekend was a little too indulgent with a few house guests and a party for my roommate’s birthday. It was a fun weekend, but I think I am going to restart the Conscious Cleanse. The cleanse felt so great and got me back on track and refocused.  Without the opportunity for much exercise, I have to think about other ways to keep myself healthy.  Having a clear plan really helps me to be more aware of what I am putting into my body and why. Today was the first day on the cleanse and I managed to eat raw all day without even trying (even though this is not a raw food cleanse)!  New “baking” experiments have led me to some delicious raw treats, that help curb my cravings and keep me away from processed foods. I think the cleanse might be even more interesting this time around with these new discoveries.

Raw. Vegan. Gluten Free. Grain free. Refined sugar free. These brownies I created were inspired by a few different blogs I follow and taste better than regular brownies with no flour or added sugar- great for balancing blood sugar levels, while also being a little bit indulgent 🙂

IMG_1828

IMG_1818 IMG_1812

IMG_1825

fudgy raw brownies

  • 1 1/2 cups Medjool dates, pitted
  • 1/4 cup raw cacao powder
  • 1 t ground coffee (optional, not raw)
  • 1/4 cup raw almonds
  • 1/4 cup raw walnuts, chopped and divided
  • 1 T unsweetened coconut (optional)

Line bread pan with waxed paper. Combine almonds, half the walnuts, optional ground coffee, and cacao powder in blender- pulse until flour-like.  Add dates and pulse until the mixture is similar to cookie dough. Fold remaining walnuts into dough mixture with hands. Add mixture to bread pan and smooth out dough. Sprinkle coconut on top. Chill for at least 30 minutes before cutting.

Author: Mindful Nutrition and Wellness

Holistic Health Coach, mindfulnutritionandwellness.com

Share Your Thoughts

